

COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

Brussels, 25.07.1995 COM(95) 402 final

Proposal for a

COUNCIL DECISION

appointing new members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee

(presented by the Commission)

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

Subject: Appointment of new members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee for the period from 28 July 1995 to 27 July 1998

- 1. Article 17 of Council Regulation (EEC) No 2052/88 of 24 June 1988, as amended in the last instance by Council Regulation (EEC) No 3194/94 of 19/12/94 on the tasks of the Structural Funds and their effectiveness and on coordination of their activities between themselves and with the operations of the European Investment Bank and the other existing financial instruments, states that the Commission shall be assisted in respect of Objectives 3 and 4 by a Committee pursuant to Article 124 of the Treaty.
- The provisions relating to the organisation and tasks of this Committee are laid down in the implementing regulations, principally in Article 28 of Council Regulation (EEC) No 4253/88, as amended by Regulation (EEC) No 2082/93 of 20 July 1993, concerning coordination of the activities of the different structural Funds between themselves and with the operations of the European Investment Bank and the other existing financial instruments.
- 3. The said Article provides that the Committee shall be composed of two government representatives, two representatives of the workers' organisations and two representatives of the employers' organisations from each Member State. The members and alternates are appointed by the Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, for a period of three years.
- 4. The Council decided, on 28 July 1992, to appoint the members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee, on a proposal from the Commission, for the period from 28 July 1992 to 27 July 1995.

During this period, additional decisions have been taken by the Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, to replace members and alternate members of the said Committee. The term of office of the replacements also expires on 27 July 1995.

5. Consequently, having consulted the Member States, the Commission submits to the Council the present proposal for a Council Decision appointing members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee for the three new Member States for the period from 28 July 1995 to 27 July 1998.

PROPOSAL FOR A COUNCIL DECISION

appointing new members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 124 thereof,

Having regard to Council Regulation (EEC) No 2052/88 of 24 June 1988¹, as amended in the last instance by Council Regulation (EEC) No 3194/94 of 19/12/94², on the tasks of the Structural Funds and their effectiveness and on coordination of their activities between themselves and with the operations of the European Investment Bank and the other existing financial instruments, and in particular Article 17 thereof,

Having regard to Council Regulation (EEC) No 4253/88 of 19 December 1988³, as amended by Regulation (EEC) No 2082/93 of 20 July 1993⁴, laying down provisions for implementing Regulation (EEC) No 2052/88 as regards coordination of the activities of the different structural Funds between themselves and with the operations of the European Investment Bank and the other existing financial instruments, and in particular Article 28 thereof,

Having regard to the Council Decision of 28 July 1992 appointing members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Whereas the three-year term of office of all the members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee began on 28 July 1992 and expires on 27 July 1995

Whereas the members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee should be appointed for a period of three years,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

¹ OJ No L 185, 15.7.1988.

² OJ No L 337 of 24.12.1994

³ OJ No C 374, 31.12.88

⁴ OJ No L 193, 31.7.1993.

Sole Article

The following are hereby appointed members and alternate members of the European Social Fund Committee for the period from 28 July 1995 to 27 July 1998:

1. GOVERNMENT REPRESENTATIVES

a) Members

BELGIUM DENMARK GERMANY GREECE SPAIN FRANCE IRELAND ITALY LUXEMBOURG NETHERLANDS PORTUGAL UN.KINGDOM AUSTRIA SWEDEN FINLAND M. A. Verlinden M. H.C. Laurberg Dr. Kurt Brüss Mme Maria Tsaroucha D. F. Manso Iniguez Mme H. Brunel M. M. Cashell Prof. Corazziari M. Dornseiffer M. J. Van Baal Mme Bengala Mme Trewartha Dr. Silvia Hellmer Mme Agneta Spetz M. Paasivirta Mme M. Chabeau M. Morten Fenger Dr. Konrad Sommer Mme C. Papandreou D.J.M.Fraile Azpeitia M. M. Therond M. P. Hayden Dr. Gaetano Di Gilio M. J.P. Braquet Mme M.G. Drewes M. R. Carlos Mme Ianthe Wright M. Michael Förschner Mme Erika Thelning Mme Vuokko Korpinen

b) Alternate members

BELGIUM DENMARK GERMANY GREECE SPAIN FRANCE IRELAND ITALY LUXEMBOURG NETHERLANDS PORTUGAL UN.KINGDOM AUSTRIA SWEDEN FINLAND M. M. Windey Mme Vibeke Dalbro Dr. Hermann Pieper Mme Dalaporta Mme C. Abenza Rojo M. Eric Aubry M. Antony Tyrrell Dr. Francesco Aloise M. J.P. Lahire M. Van der Meulen M.M.Ferraz de Oliveira Mme June Milligan Dr. Alfred Haller Mme Anna Carlson M. Pertti Toivonen

2. EMPLOYERS' REPRESENTATIVES

a) Members

BELGIUM DENMARK GERMANY GREECE SPAIN FRANCE IRELAND ITALY LUXEMBOURG NETHERLANDS PORTUGAL-UN.KINGDOM AUSTRIA SWEDEN FINLAND Mme S. Kohnenmergen M. Hans Glendrup Prin.Zu Schoenaich Carolath M. M. Stassinopoulos D.J. rodriguez Garcia Caro M. E. Julien M. Clare Caroll Dott. P. Fiorentino M. L. Jung M. A.M. Huntjens M.Frias Gomes M. Morton Dr. Fritz Micklau Mme Ingrid Jerneck Mme Pekka Castren M. J. Bellefroid
M. Henrik Morkeberg
M. Gernot Preuss
M. L. Papaioannou
D. José Alberto Gonzalez Ruiz
M. P. Garzon
M. Niall Meghen
Dott. E. Attolini
M. M. Sauber
Mme Van den Brandt-Stel
M.I. Branquinho
Mme D. France
Dr. Wolfgang Tritremmel
M. Gunnar Wetterberg
Mme Riita Wärn

Alternate members b) BELGIUM DENMARK GERMANY GREECE **SPAIN** FRANCE **IRELAND** ITALY LUXEMBOURG NETHERLANDS PORTUGAL **UN.KINGDOM** AUSTRIA SWEDEN **FINLAND**

M. Johan Bortier
M. Michael Svane
M. Jobst Reginal Hagedom
Mme Ioanna Papayanni
Mme Ana Beltran Blazquez
M. Claude Amis
M. P. Brennan
Dott. Enrico Greci
M. R. Muller
Mme A.G. Joosten
M.A. Duarte
M. A. Armitage
Mme Christa Schweng
Mme Inger Wessberg
M. Kari Purhonen

3. WORKERS' REPRESENTATIVES

a) Members

BELGIUM DENMARK GERMANY GREECE SPAIN FRANCE IRELAND ITALY LUXEMBOURG NETHERLANDS PORTUGAL UN.KINGDOM AUSTRIA SWEDEN FINLAND M. M. Fostier M. E. Balle Mme Inge Kauffmann M. Dimitri Touskala Dr. Julia Frias Gomez M. A. Benlezar M. D. Murphy Dott. S. Ammanati M. Pizzaferri Mme.H.T. M. Scholten M. J.M. Monteiro Veludo M. Doug Mc Evoy M. Josel Wallner M. Rolf Andersson Mr. Jari Pekka Jyrkanne Mme D'Hondt M.E. Kristiansen M.S. Oliver Lübke M.K. Maragoudakis Mme Ines Ayala Sender M.G. Cosyns M.D. Nevin M.G. Reggini M.R. Schadeck M. Hazenbosch M.L. de Matos Costa M. Rodgers M. Franz Friehs M. Anders Forsman Mme Leila Kurki

b) Alternate members

BELGIUM DENMARK GERMANY GREECE SPAIN FRANCE IRELAND ITALY LUXEMBOURG NETHERLANDS PORTUGAL UN.KINGDOM AUSTRIA SWEDEN FINLAND M. Guy Haaze Mr. Harald Hinrich M. H.H. Rubbert M. Vassili Papandogambro M. Noval Fernandez M.A. Bernard M. W.A. Attley Dott. R. Pettenello M.F. Miller Mme I.A. Overdiep M.J.J. Veiera Pinto Coelho M.L. Mills M. Richard Leutner M. Anders Bäckström Mme Heikki Liede

ISSN 0254-1475

COM(95) 402 final

DOCUMENTS

01 05

EN

Catalogue number : CB-CO-95-432-EN-C

ISBN 92-77-92701-1

Office for Official Publications of the European Communities L-2985 Luxembourg