

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION GENERAL SECRETARIAT

## PRESS RELEASE

Brussels, 10 November 1997

12066/97 (Presse 333) P. 106/97

## DECLARATION BY THE EUROPEAN UNION, BULGARIA, CYPRUS, THE CZECH REPUBLIC, ESTONIA, HUNGARY, ICELAND, LATVIA, LITHUANIA, NORWAY, ROMANIA, SLOVAKIA AND SLOVENIA, CONCERNING BURMA / MYANMAR

The associated countries Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia, declare that they share the objectives of the common position defined by the Council of the European Union on 28 October 1996 on the basis of Article J.2 of the Treaty on European Union concerning Burma/Myanmar, as extended by the decision of the Council of the European Union on 20 October 1997. They will ensure that their national policies conform to that common position.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

12066/97 (Presse 333 - G)