

## PRESS RELEASE

Brussels, 3 August 1998

10754/98 (Presse 272) P. 85/98

Declaration by the European Union and
the Associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe,
the Associated country Cyprus and Iceland and Norway,
EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area,
on the EU Code of Conduct on Arms Exports

Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia declare that they share the objectives of the EU Code of Conduct on Arms Exports formally approved by the European Union on 8 June 1998 and align themselves to the criteria and principles contained in the Code, which will guide them in their national export control policies.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

10754/98 (Presse 272 - G)