

## PRESS RELEASE

Brussels, 23 December 1998

14389/98 (Presse 459) P 157/98

Declaration by the European Union
and the associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe,
the associated country Cyprus
and the EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area
on restrictive measures to be taken against persons in the Federal Republic of
Yugoslavia acting against the independent media

Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia declare that they share the objectives of the common position defined by the Council of the European Union on the basis of Article J.2 of the Treaty on European Union on restrictive measures to be taken against persons in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia acting against the independent media. They will ensure that their national policies conform to that Common Position.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

14389/98 (Presse 459 - G)