

Brussels, 15 June 1998

9241/98 (Presse 188) P. 52/98

## Declaration by the Associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe and the EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area on the Indian and Pakistan nuclear tests

Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia declare that they align themselves to the declaration by the European Union on India nuclear tests issued on 25 May, to the declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on Pakistan nuclear tests issued on 29 May 1998, as well as the declaration by the European Union on India and Pakistan issued on 8 June 1998.

The European Union takes note of this alignment and welcomes it.

9241/98 (Presse 188 - G)