

CENERAL DESCRIPTION ON THE ROPPAN UNION

## PRESS RELEASE

Brussels, 18 June 1998

9396/98 (Presse 199) P 60/98

## Declaration by the European Union by the Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, the associated country Cyprus and the EFTA countries, members of the European Economic Area on the Common Position on Human Rights, Democratic Principles, the Rule of Law and Good Governance in Africa

Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia declare that they share the objectives of the Common Position 98/350/CFSP defined by the Council on 25 May 1998 on the basis of Article J.2 of the Treaty on European Union on Human Rights, Democratic Principles, the Rule of Law and Good Governance in Africa. They will ensure that their national policies conform to that Common Position.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

9396/98 (Presse 199 - G)