

Brussels, 16 June 1998

9394/98 (Presse 197) P 58/98

## Declaration by the European Union, the associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the associated country Cyprus and the EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area concerning the prohibition of new investment in Serbia

The associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the associated country Cyprus and the EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area declare that they share and support the objectives of the Common Position 98/374/CFSP adopted by the Council of the European Union on 8 June 1998 on the basis of Article J.2 of the Treaty on European Union concerning the prohibition of new investment in Serbia. They will ensure that their national policies conform to that Common Position.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.