European Community

News Release

A COMMON EUROPEAN PASSPORT

Citizens of Belgium, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom will soon have a common passport.

The member states of the European Community have adopted a resolution providing for the introduction of a common passport by 1985. They have agreed that the indication "European Community" will appear on the cover above the name of the issuing country, but that this indication may be printed in slightly smaller letters. The colour of the passport will be uniform: bordeaux red.

The transition period is required to allow for implementation of technical and administrative arrangements.

NR (81) 17 30 June

Delegation of the Commission of the European Communities Press and Information Service