Brussels, 15 March 1999

SELEASE

6548/99 (Presse 73) P. 26/99

Declaration by the European Union and the Associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the Associated country Cyprus and the EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area regarding the Joint Action on the European's Union contribution to combating the destabilising accumulation and spread of small arms and light weapons

Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia declare that they share the objectives of the Joint Action adopted by the Council of the European Union on 17 December 1998 on the basis of Article J.3 of the Treaty on European Union, on the European Union's contribution to combating the destabilising accumulation and spread of small arms and light weapons, and that they shall aim at building consensus, in the relevant regional and international fora, on the principles and measures referred to in its Articles 3 to 5.

They declare that their states shall be committed to that Joint Action in the positions they adopt and in the conduct of their activity.

The European Union takes note of those commitments and welcomes them.

6548/99 (Presse 73 - G)