THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITY

PRESS RELEASE

EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY • EUROPEAN COAL AND STEEL COMMUNITY • EUROPEAN ATOMIC ENERGY COMMUNITY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 14, 1967

LEADERS OF EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT VISIT WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON, D.C., September 14 -- Ten members of the European Parliament visiting the United States at the invitation of Vice President Hubert H. Humphrey will spend today in Washington meeting with Government officials.

The delegation from the Parliament of the European Communities, led by its President, Alain Poher, is in the United States from September 12 to 16 and during its stay will visit Chicago, Washington D.C., Cape Kennedy and New York City. Highlight of their day in the capital city will be a reception given at 6:00 p.m. by the Vice President at Blair House (open for press coverage). The members of the Parliament will begin their day by laying a wreath at the grave of the late President John F. Kennedy at 9:30 a.m. During the course of the day, the delegation will meet with members of the Senate and House of Representatives and with State Department officials. Tomorrow, they will visit Cape Kennedy, Fla., as guests of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

The 142-member European Parliament has its seat in Strasbourg, France. It is the assembly of the European Communities -- the Economic Community (Common Market), the Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), and the Atomic Energy Community (Euratom). Members are seated in the Parliament according to political party affiliation rather than nationality and are elected from and by the national parliaments of the Communities' member countries. There are 36 representatives each from France, the Federal Republic of Germany, and Italy, 14 each from the Netherlands and Belgium, and 6 form Luxembourg.

The members of the European Parliament spent their first day in the United States in Chicago where they met with business and academic leaders.

(more)

In Washington, the delegation will attend a morning Congressional hearing and later meet with members of the House Foreign Affairs Committee on Europe. They will be guests at a luncheon given by Senator John J. Sparkman (D-Ala.), chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on European Affairs, and in the afternoon they will attend briefings by Under Secretary of State Nicholas deB. Katzenbach and Assistant Secretary of State for European Affairs John Leddy. They will also attend a dinner given for them by German Ambassador Heinrich Knappstein at his residence.

Prior to their visit to the United States, the delegation members were in Canada where they participated in "European Communities' Day" on September 10 at EXPO '67 and met with Canadian officials and legislators in Ottawa. Following their Cape Kennedy visit, they will fly to New York for a one-day visit before returning to Europe.

Accompanying the European Parliament's President, Alain Poher, (France -Christian Democrat Group), are:

Vice Presidents -

Ludwig Metzger	(Germany - Socialist Group)
Edoardo Battaglia	(Italy - Liberal Group and Associates)
Louis Terrenoire	(France - European Democratic Union Group)
Hans Furler	(Germany - Christian Democrat Group)
Joseph Wohlfart	(Luxembourg - Socialist Group)
Cornelis Berkhouwer	(Dutch - Liberal Group and Associates).

Members -

Joseph Illerhaus	(Germany - Christian Democrat Group)
Leon-Eli Troclet	(Belgium - Socialist Group)
Jean Berthoin	(France - Liberal Group and Associates).

Also with the group are: Hans R. Nord, Secretary General of the European Parliament; Jacques Lelievre, Executive Assistant to M. Poher, and Maurice Mestat, member of the Parliament's Secretariat.

#

2.