## European Community Communauté européenne

## News Nouvelles

15TH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE EUROPEAN AND CANADIAN PARLIAMENTS IN BANFF, 20 - 25 SEPTEMBER

Members of the European Parliament will begin working sessions in Banff on Monday, 21 September, with Canadian counterparts at the annual interparliamentary meeting of the two parliaments.

The ten-member European Parliament delegation, with representatives from seven European Community Member States, will be headed by Mr. Roberto Constanzo, Italy, Chairman of the European Parliament Delegation for Relations with Canada. Mr. Jack Ellis, MP, Chairman of the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association, is the leader of the Canadian delegation.

The members of the two parliaments have an extensive agenda. The European parliamentarians will seek information on Canadian views on the direction of Canada's foreign policy with regard to relations with the European Communities. What are the possibilities for future development of the relationship?

The Canadian side is interested in the overall implications of the Single European Act, which amended the Treaty of Rome with effect from 1 July. What implications will the foreseen completion of the Community's Internal Market by 1992 have on the Community's trading partners, particularly Canada?

Among the bilateral issues to be discussed are the impact on the European Community of a possible Canada-US free-trade agreement, bilateral fisheries relations, specifically the Long Term Fisheries Agreement between Canada and the Community, international agricultural trade questions, including current GATT negotiations, as well as reforms of the EC Common Agricultural Policy, and EC-Canada trade relations in the agricultural and forestry sectors.

On the agenda are also subjects of mutual interest, such as East-West relations, including arms control and disarmament, North-South relations, energy policy issues, immigration from third world countries, including the problem of refugees, air transport deregulation, and the role of the Economic Summit meetings.

.../2



Delegation of the Commission of the European Communities

Délégation de la Commission des Communautés européennes

The 518-member European Parliament is elected every five years in the European Community by universal franchise.

The European Parliament delegation consists of:

- Mr. Roberto Constanzo Chairman	European People's Party (Christian Democratic Group), Italy
- Mr. Gene Fitzgerald 1st Vice-Chairman	European Renewal and Democratic Alliance, Ireland
- Mr. Christos Papoutsis, 2nd Vice-Chairman	Socialist, Greece
- Mr. James Provan	European Democrat, United Kingdom
- Mr. Madron Seligman	European Democrat, United Kingdom
- Mr. Dieter Rogalla	Socialist, Federal Republic of Germany
- Mr. Angelo Carossino	Communist and Allies Group, Italy
- Mrs. Anne André	Liberal and Democratic Reformist Group, Belgium
- Mr. Hans-Jeurgen Zahorka	European People's Party (Christian Democratic Group), Federal Republic of Germany
- Mr. Mark Clinton	European People's Party (Christian Democratic Group), Ireland

The delegates from the Canadian Parliament are:

## Senate

Hon. Bud Olson

Hon. Lorne Bonnell

Hon. Yvette Rousseau

Hon. Heath Macquarrie

Hon. Eileen Rossiter

## House of Commons

Mr. Jack Ellis, MP Leader of the delegation and Chairman of the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association

Mr. Dan McKenzie, MP

Mr. Girve Fretz, MP

Mrs. Thérèse Killens, MP

Mr. Lorne McCuish, MP

Mr. Stan Hovdebo, MP

Mr. Sid Fraleigh, MP

Mr. Jim Jepson, MP

Mr. George Henderson, MP

- 30 -

Please address enquiries to Finn Olesen or Roy Christensen, Press and Information, Delegation of the Commission of the European Communities, 350 Sparks Street, Suite 1110, Ottawa, Ontario, K1R 7S8. Phone (613) 238-6464.

You are also welcome to address enquiries to the Canadian parliamentary delegation, c/o Banff Park Lodge, Banff. Phone (403) 762-4433.

NR (87) 19 18 September