

## PRESS RELEASE

Brussels, 4 May 2001 8443/01 (Presse 171) P 91/01

## <u>Declaration by the European Union and</u> <u>the Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union,</u> <u>the associated countries Cyprus, Malta and Turkey,</u> <u>and the EFTA countries, members of the European Economic Area,</u> <u>on the situation in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia</u>

The Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, the associated countries Cyprus, Malta and Turkey, and the EFTA countries, members of the European Economic Area, declare that they align themselves with the declaration by the European Union on the situation in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, published in Brussels and Stockholm, 3 May 2001.

The European Union takes note of their alignment and welcomes it.

Internet: http://ue.eu.int/Newsroom E-mail: press.office@consilium.eu.int