european Community PRESS RELEASE

EUROPEAN COMMUNITY INFORMATION SERVICE

2100 M Street Northwest, Suite 707, Washington D.C. 20037 • Telephone: (202) 296-5131

November 24, 1971 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE No. 64

NINETEEN EUROPEAN NATIONS SIGN COOPERATION AGREEMENTS

WASHINGTON, D.C., November 24 -- Nineteen European nations signed in Brussels yesterday agreements on scientific and technical projects ranging from metallurgy research to the protection of the environment. Support for each project differed, depending upon the specific interests of the participating countries.

The participants, all members of the Organization for European Cooperation in the Field of Scientific and Technical Research (C.O.S.T.), were the European Commission, Austria, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and Yugoslavia. Agreements signed by all or some participants included joint action on:

- two projects in the metallurgy field, one dealing with materials for gas turbines, the other involving materials for sea water desalinization plants;

- a project to combat air pollution by determining the physio-chemical mechanism eliminating sulphur compounds from the atmosphere and to perfect measuring methods and techniques in this field;

- a project to gather all data enabling identification of organic micropollutants in water;

- a project in the field of sewage treatment.

The participating countries also emphasized interest in cooperation in other areas such as electronic computers, meteorology, and transportation.

The two-day conference stemmed from an October, 1967, European Community decision to study ways non-nuclear research and technology could be fostered at a Community level. A group of experts appointed by the Community subsequently prepared a list of possible fields of cooperation including data processing, telecommunications, transportation, metallurgy, environmental protection, oceanography, and meteorology.

In November, 1969, the Community invited Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain and Portugal to participate in a conference designed to promote cooperation in these areas, which resulted in the formation of C.O.S.T. Yugoslavia, Greece and Finland were added to the conference list when they asked to attend.

Full preparation for the conference was then approved by the European Council of Ministers in December, 1970.

#