

(1) A. B. A. S. F. F. D. B. A. B. B. A. S. M. S. M. S. M. S. K. S. K.

PRESS REFEASE

Brussels, 1 August 2001 11216/01 (Presse 301/01) P 138/01

Declaration by the European Union and the Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, the associated countries Cyprus, Malta and Turkey and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, on the situation in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

e Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, the associated countries Cyprus, Malta and Turkey¹ and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, declare that they align themselves with the European Union declaration on the situation in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, published in Brussels on 26 July 2001.

The European Union takes note of their alignment and welcomes it.

Internet: http://ue.eu.int/Newsroom E-mail: press.office@consilium.eu.int

¹ Turkey would point out that it recognises the Republic of Macedonia under its constitutional name.