european community PRESS RELEASE

EUROPEAN COMMUNITY INFORMATION SERVICE

2100 M Street Northwest, Suite 707, Washington, D.C. 20037 Telephone: (202)872-8350 New York Office: 277 Park Avenue, New York, N.Y. 10017 Telephone: (212) 371-3804

No. 15/1973

Embargoed for Release

7 AM, April 5, 1973

EURATOM AND IAEA SIGN NPT ACCORD

WASHINGTON, DC -- April 5 -- The European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom) and seven of its member states signed today in Brussels an agreement with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) on a safeguard system to prevent the conversion of fissile materials into nuclear weapons. The other two members of the European Communities -- France and the United Kingdom -- did not sign due to their nuclear military status but are still subject to Euratom's safeguards.

The accord, negotiated in accordance with the Euratom Treaty (Articles 101 and 102) on the authority of a European Communities Council of Ministers Directive of December 20, 1971, is based on Article III, Paragraphs 1 and 4, of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT).

The accord subjects Euratom's nuclear safety controls and guarantees to verification by the IAEA. This verification includes independent observation by IAEA teams but takes into account Euratom's own effective nuclear guarantee system.

The accord stipulates that IAEA's verification will not cause any unjustified interference in Euratom's peaceful nuclear activities or its overall economic and technological progress.

This material is prepared, edited, issued, and circulated by the European Community Information Service, 2100 M Street, NW, Suite 707, Washington, DC 20037 which is registered under the Foreign Agents Registration Act as an agent of the Commission of the European Communities, Brussels, Belgium. This material is filed with the Department of Justice where the required registration statement is available for public inspection. Registration does not indicate approval of the contents of the material by the United States Government. IAEA Director General Sigvard Eklund and Ralf Dahrendorf, Commissioner responsible for the European Communities' science, education, and research activities signed the accord for Euratom. The EC Permanent Representatives of Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands signed for their countries.

#