

european community

NEWS

No.17/93 April 30, 1993

FIRST EC-US PRESIDENTIAL SUMMIT WITH CLINTON TO TAKE PLACE MAY 7

Prime Minister Poul Nyrup Rasmussen of Denmark, which currently holds the rotating EC Council Presidency, and EC Commission President Jacques Delors will meet with US President Bill Clinton in Washington on May 7 for the latest in the round of twice yearly EC-US presidential summits. Commissioners Sir Leon Brittan and Hans van den Broek will also be present.

The leaders are expected to give top priority to developments in Europe and the United States, the world economic and monetary situation, completion of the Uruguay Round, as well as bilateral EC-US issues. They will also discuss the current situation in Russia, the former Yugoslavia and the Middle East.

This is the first transatlantic summit with President Clinton and the fourth to take place in Washington since they were first formalized in the November 1990 Transatlantic Declaration.

Following the EC-US meeting, which will continue over lunch, the three presidents will make press statements at the White House.

At 3 p.m on May 7, Prime Minister Rasmussen and President Delors will give a joint press conference at the National Press Club, 14th and F Streets NW. Members of the press are invited to attend.

Biographical Notes

Poul Nyrup Rasmussen

Prime Minister of Denmark

Acting President of the European Council (January to June, 1993)

Poul Nyrup Rasmussen became Prime Minister of Denmark in January 1993 when he formed a four-party coalition government led by the Social Democratic Party, the largest party in Denmark's Folketing (Parliament). His government immediately took over the EC Council Presidency from the outgoing conservative-liberal government of Poul Schlueter and Uffe Ellemann Jensen.

An active member of the Social Democratic Party since his university days, Mr. Rasmussen was elected leader of the party in 1992 and brought it to power months later after ten years in opposition. He had been the party deputy chairman since 1987. Mr. Rasmussen was first elected to Parliament in 1988.

An economist by profession, he was appointed CEO of a Danish investment fund created by wage earners in 1986. In 1980 he became chief economist for the Trade Union Movement, and had been employed as its economist since graduation from the University of Copenhagen with a Masters in Economics. He was born in Esbjerg, Denmark on June 15, 1943.

Jacques Delors

President of the EC Commission

Jacques Delors was first appointed President of the EC Commission in January 1985. Many of the instruments crucial to the 1992 program - the White Paper, the Single European Act, budgetary reform - were introduced during his first term. Based on this success, his mandate for a second term starting January 1989 was renewed at the Hanover European Council in 1988. It was renewed for a third term at the June 1992 Lisbon European Council.

Before becoming President of the Commission, Delors served as Minister of Finance in the French Government from 1981 to 1984. A member of the Central Committee of the French Socialist Party, Delors was also Town Councillor, and later Mayor, of Clichy from 1983 to 1984. From 1979 to 1981, he was a Member of the European Parliament, where he was a Chairman of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs, an area to which he has devoted much attention as President of the Commission. He held several positions with the Bank of France, including Member of the General Council from 1973 to 1979. He was also Secretary-General for the Interdepartmental Committee for Vocational Training and Social Advancement from 1969 to 1973.

Jacques Delors was born July 20, 1925. He is married to Marie Lephaille and has a daughter, Martine.

Press Contacts:	EC Commission	Embassy of Denmark
	Peter Doyle (202) 862-9530	Jorgen Grunnet (202) 234-4300
	Ella Krucoff (202) 862-9540	