

## european community

June 24, 1993 No. 32/93

## NEWS

## EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARIANS TO HOLD BIANNUAL MEETING WITH MEMBERS OF CONGRESS AND U.S. ADMINISTRATION

The European Parliament's Standing Delegation for Relations with the United States will be in the US June 25-July 1 for the 41st EC-US Interparliamentary Meeting with the US Congress delegation.

The EP delegation has been chaired since February 1992 by Alan Donnelly (PES - UK). Vice Chairmen are Jean Penders (EPP - Netherlands) and Ruediger von Wechmar (LDR - Germany).

The EP delegation will join the congressional delegation, chaired by Rep. Tom Lantos (D-Ca.), in San Francisco, California for the June 25-27 interparliamentary meeting. Topics on the agenda include NATO and UN peacekeeping, developments in and assistance for the CIS, Yugoslavia, as well as EC-US trade relations, including steel, Airbus and agriculture, the Uruguay Round, bilateral economic issues, particularly taxation and public procurement, and NAFTA.

In Washington from June 28-July 1, the 25-member delegation will have its traditional round of meetings with the US Administration and Senate. There will be meetings at the National Security Council, the US Trade Representative's Office and the Council of State Governments. The European Parliament delegation will be offered a luncheon by Senate Majority Leader George J. Mitchell (D.-Me). They will also meet with Senator John D. Rockefeller, IV (D.-WV), Chairman of the Steel Caucus, and Senator Sam Nunn (D.-Ga), Chairman of the Armed Services Committee. The delegation will participate in a seminar organized by the European Institute on "The Structural Readjustment of Economies: Transatlantic Investment and Economic Interdependence".

The European Parliament is directly elected every five years by the citizens of the European Community; the next elections will be in 1994. The Parliament scrutinizes EC legislation, ratifies foreign trade accords, has final authority over the EC budget and reviews the EC executive institutions.

The delegation visiting the US includes Members of the Parliament from 11 EC countries. Other delegation members are:

Ms. Mary Banotti (EPP - Ireland)

Mr. Jean Paul Benoit (PES - France)

Mr. Neil Blaney (ARC - Ireland)

Mr. Elmar Brok (EPP - Germany)

Mr. Bryan Cassidy (EPP - United Kingdom)

Sir Fred Catherwood (EPP - United Kingdom)

Mr. Gene Fitzgerald (EDA - Ireland)

Mr. Gerardo Gaibisso (EPP - Italy)

Mr. Ernest Glinne (PES - Belgium)

../..

- Mr. Lyndon Harrison (PES UK)
- Mr. Lothar Klein (EPP Germany)
- Mr. Joaquim Miranda Da Silva (LU Portugal)
- Mr. Christos Papoutsis (PES Greece)
- Mr. Ioannis Pesmazoglou (EPP- Greece)
- Mr. Luis Planas Puchades (PES Spain)
- Mr. Hans-Gert Poettering (EPP Germany)
- Mr. Peter Price (EPP United Kingdom)
- Mr. Klaus Riskaer Pedersen (LDR Denmark)
- Mr. Gerhard Schmid (PES Germany)
- Mr. Barry Seal (PES United Kingdom)
- Mr. Roberto Speciale (PES Italy)
- Mr. Georgios Zavvos (EPP Greece)

## Abbreviations:

PES - Party of European (PES)s

EPP - European Peoples Party (Christian Democratic Group)

LDR - Liberal, Democratic and Reformist Group

EDA - European Democratic Alliance

ARC - "Arc-en-Ciel", Rainbow Group in the EP

LU - Left Unity

Press Contacts:

Ella Krucoff

Tel: (202) 862-9540

Bob Whiteman

Tel: (202) 862-9550