

No. 18/91 June 12, 1991

## EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARIANS TO MEET WITH U.S. CONGRESS AND BUSINESS LEADERS

The European Parliament's Standing Delegation for Relations with the United States will be in the US June 17-24 for meetings with government officials and business representatives in New York, Washington DC, and Hanover, New Hampshire. The focus of the meetings will be US-EC relations in a changing global environment.

In New York on June 18, the Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) delegation will attend the America European Community Association (AECA) conference on "The New European Role in Security and Development". Geoffrey Hoon (UK-Socialist), chairman of the Parliament delegation, will address the conference on the topic "The Role of the European Parliament in the EC's Single Market". The MEPs will also participate in discussion groups with American business representatives and selected State legislators from around the US to talk about the impact of 1992 on Euro-American business cooperation.

In Washington DC on June 19, the delegation will meet with Senate Majority Leader George Mitchell (D-Me), who will introduce the MEPs on the Senate floor. Also on June 19, the Parliament delegation will visit the US Department of State for meetings with Assistant Secretary for African Affairs Henry Cohen, Assistant Secretary for Mid-East Affairs John Kelly, and other regional experts. Secretary of Defense Dick Cheney will address the Parliament delegation that evening at a dinner hosted by co-chairmen of the US congressional delegation, Representatives Tom Lantos (D-Ca), Sam Gibbons (D-Fla) and Benjamin Gilman (R-NY).

On June 20, the Parliament delegation will see Speaker of the House of Representatives Thomas S. Foley (D-Wa) and meet with members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee. Other appointments in Washington DC that day include meetings with Vice Chairman of the Federal Reserve Board David Mullins; Chief Economist for AFL-CIO Rudy Oswald; and Director of the Eastern Division of the US Civil Rights Commission John Binkley.

The MEPs will join the congressional delegation on Friday, June 21, at Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire for the 37th semi-annual interparliamentary meeting between the two institutions. The congressional host is Representative Dick Swett (D.-N.H.).

Discussions in Hanover are expected to cover issues such as the US-EC relationship in the New World Order, the situation in the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, the Uruguay Round, the START negotiations, and energy and the environment.

../..

The 518-member European Parliament is directly elected every five years by the citizens of the European Community; the most recent of these elections was in June 1989. The Parliament scrutinizes EC legislation, ratifies foreign trade accords, has final authority over the EC budget and reviews the EC executive institutions. The delegation visiting the United States includes MEP from 10 of the 12 EC member states and represents the following of the Parliament's political groups: Socialist Group; Group of the European People's Party (EPP); Liberal and Democratic Reformist Group (LDR); European Democratic Group (ED); Greens; European Democratic Alliance (EDA); European Right (ER) and the Left Unity (LU).

The delegation's vice chairmen are Ms. Hiltrud Breyer (Greens - Germany) and Mr. Phillipe Herzog (LU - France).

## Other participants are:

Mrs. Mary Banotti (EPP - Ireland)

Mr. Jean-Paul Benoit (Socialist - France)

Lord Bethell (ED - United Kingdom)

Mr. Elmar Brok (EPP - Germany)

Mr. Bryan Cassidy (ED - United Kingdom)

Mr. Artur da Cunha Oliveira (Socialist - Portugal)

Ms. Teresa Domingo Segarra (LU - Spain)

Mr. Gene Fitzgerald (EDA - Ireland)

Mr. Gerardo Gaibisso (EPP - Italy)

Mr. Ernest Glinne (Socialist - Belgium)

Ms. Annemarie Goedmakers (Socialist - Netherlands)

Mr. Lyndon H.A. Harrison (Socialist - United Kingdom)

Mrs. Maria Magnani Noya (Socialist - Italy)

Mr. Jean Penders (EPP - Netherlands)

Mr. Ioannis Pesmazoglou (EPP - Greece)

Mr. Luis Planas Puchades (Socialist - Spain)

Mr. Hans Gert Poettering (EPP - Germany)

Mr. Gerhard Schmid (Socialist - Germany)

Mr. Jacques Tauran (ER - France)

Mr. Josep Verde I Aldea (Socialist - Spain)

Mr. Ruediger von Wechmar (LDR - Germany)

## Also participating:

Mr. Luigi Colajanni (Chairman of the Group of the European Unitarian Left - Italy)

Press Contacts:

Ella Krucoff (202) 862-9540

Bob Whiteman (202) 862-9550