

No. 24/91 July 11, 1991

## EUROPEAN COMMUNITY LEADERS AT LONDON ECONOMIC SUMMIT

Ruud Lubbers, Prime Minister of the Netherlands, and Jacques Delors, EC Commission President, will represent the European Community at the Summit of Industrialized Nations in London on July 15 and 16. The Netherlands currently holds the EC Council Presidency.

Prime Minister Lubbers, who attends the Summit in his capacity as President of the Council, will be accompanied by Hans van den Broek, Dutch Minister of Foreign Affairs.

President Delors will be accompanied by Frans Andriessen, Commission Vice President for Trade and External Relations, and Henning Christophersen, Commission Vice President responsible for Economic and Financial Affairs.

"Building an International Partnership and Strengthening of the International Order" is the theme of this year's summit, but there is no fixed agenda for the gathering as its purpose traditionally has been to allow leaders to meet and discuss informally. This time, however, they are expected to focus on the Uruguay Round, economic growth, the situation in Eastern Europe, the environment, disaster relief and a stronger role for the United Nations, drug-trafficking, and non-proliferation of nuclear, biological and chemical weapons.

The leaders meet with Mikhail Gorbachev, President of the Soviet Union, on July 17 immediately after the summit, to discuss economic reform and aid to the Soviet Union. The European Community is giving the Soviet Union 750 million ECU\* in food aid from EC resources. In 1991, the Soviet Union will also receive 400 million ECU in EC technical assistance, decided at the December 1990 European Council in Rome.

The annual economic summit - the 17th of its kind - brings together the leaders of the Group of Seven (G-7) which includes the United States, Canada, Japan, France, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom, and the European Community.

The Community has participated in the G-7 summits since 1977. It is jointly represented by the President of the Commission, and the Head of Government occupying the EC Presidency, which rotates among the 12 member states every six months. If a member state is also a member of the G-7, that Head of State automatically represents both his country and the Community.

\*ECU = \$1.14 on June 21, 1991

Press Contact:

Ella Krucoff (202) 862-9540