合。36年,基本主义之上

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION GENERAL SECRETARIAT

PRESS RELEASE

Brussels, 21 August 2001 11429/01 (Presse 309) P 146/01

Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on train attack in Angola

The EU is appalled by the brutal attack perpetrated on Friday 10 August by UNITA on civilians travelling on the regular train between Luanda and Dondo (Cuanza Norte Province), which caused around 250 casualties and 165 injured.

This terrorist act against innocent men, women and children, cannot but be strongly condemned by the EU. The EU believes that the continuation of such course of action does not contribute to create the necessary confidence building measures towards a serious and effective dialogue that can lead to peace and national reconciliation in Angola.

The EU urges UNITA to immediately cease this kind of actions against civilians that inflict terrible distress to the Angolans, to comply with the provisions and spirit of the Lusaka Protocol and to engage seriously in the search for peace through concrete actions that confirm its declared willingness to dialogue.

The EU is particularly concerned that an anti-tank mine was used in the attack and again demands that all parties in the Angolan conflict, in particular UNITA, cease all further use of land mines.

Internet: http://ue.eu.int/Newsroom E-mail: press.office@consilium.eu.int

11429/01 (Presse 309 - G)

The train attack underlines the urgent need for all parties to the Angolan conflict to open an inclusive dialogue leading towards a sustainable peace, in which human rights are promoted and protected, and in which the country's undoubted wealth can be deployed for the benefit of the development of Angola.

The EU reiterates its willingness to contribute to the efforts towards the alleviation of the suffering of the Angolan people and remains committed to a political solution on the basis of the Bicesse Peace Agreements, the Lusaka Protocol and relevant UN Security Council Resolutions.

The Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, the associated countries Cyprus, Malta and Turkey, and the EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this declaration.