european community PRESS RELEASE

EUROPEAN COMMUNITY INFORMATION SERVICE

2100 M Street Northwest, Suite 707, Washington D.C. 20037 • Telephone: (202) 296-5131

July 1, 1970

FOR A.M. RLEASE, JULY 2, 1970

NEW COMMON MARKET COMMISSION TAKES OFFICE

WASHINGTON, D.C., July 2, 1970 -- The new nine-man Commission of the European Communities took office and held its first meeting today in Brussels, Belgium.

The new "European Commission" is the second to hold office since the executive branches of the European Economic Community (Common Market), the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom), and the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) were merged into a single 14-man body on July 1, 1967. The first Commission after the "merger treaty," under the presidency of Jean Rey of Belgium, was considered an interim body whose size would be reduced in three years.

The Commission is a collegial executive responsible for safeguarding and carrying out the three Treaties and proposing policy to the Council of Ministers, the Community's legislative branch. Commission members are appointed unanimously by the governments of the six members of the Community: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands. Once appointed, Commission members are completely independent; they cannot accept instructions from the government of any member state.

The newly appointed members of the European Communities Commission are: 16

President:	Franco Maria Malfatti (Italy)
Vice Presidents:	Raymond Barre (France)
	Wilhelm Haferkamp (Germany)
	Sicco L. Mansholt (the Netherlands)
Members:	Albert Borschette (Luxembourg)
	Albert Coppe (Belgium)
	Ralf Dahrendorf (Germany)
	Jean-François Deniau (France)
	Altiero Spinelli (Italy)

The President and Vice Presidents are appointed for two-year terms. Members are appointed for a term of four years.

#

#

#

- 2 -