

PRESS RELEASE

EUROPEAN COMMUNITY INFORMATION SERVICE

2100 M Street Northwest, Suite 707, Washington D.C. 20037 • Telephone: (202) 296-5131

INFORMATION MEMORANDUM

July 7, 1970

RESPONSIBILITIES ASSIGNED NEW COMMON MARKET COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C., July 7 -- The new European Communities Commission, streamlined from fourteen to nine members, decided at its first meeting in Brussels on July 2, the special responsibilities each member will have in the operation of the Commission.

Short biographies of each member of the Commission are attached.

A list of each member's responsibilities follows.

Franco Maria Malfatti, President

Secretariat

Legal Service

Spokesman's Group

Security Office

Sicco L. Mansholt, Vice President

Agriculture (D.G. VI)*

Raymond Barre, Vice President

Economic and Financial Affairs (D.G. II)

Statistical Office

Wilhelm Haferkamp, Vice President

Internal Market and Legislative Harmonization (D.G. XIV)

Energy (D.G. XVII)

Supply Agency

Safeguards and Controls

Albert Coppé, Member

Social Affairs (D.G. V)

Transport (D.G. VII)

Credit and Investments (D.G. XVIII)

Personnel and Administration (D.G. IX)

Budgets (D.G. XIX)

Financial Control (D.G. XX)

Jean-François Deniau, Member

Coordination of the Enlargement Negotiations (D.G. I: Divisions B1 and B2)** Development Aid (D.G. VIII)

Altiero Spinelli, Member

Industrial Affairs (D.G. III)

General Research and Technology (D.G. XII)

Joint Research Center (D.G. XV)

Albert Borschette, Member

Competition (D.G. IV)

Regional Policy (D.G. XVI)

Press and Information (D.G. X)

Dissemination of Information (D.G. XIII)

Ralf Dahrendorf, Member

External Relations (D.G. I, except B1 and B2)** External Trade (D.G. XI)

* The figures within the parenthesis denote the directorate general of the Commission over which the responsibility extends.

** Directorates B1 and B2 of the Directorate-General for External Relations cover "External Relations with European Countries, Membership, Association, Preferential Agreements: United Kingdom, Ireland, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Switzerland, Austria, Iceland, European Free Trade Association."