

No. 16/1981

May 15, 1981

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY DELEGATION

TO VISIT WASHINGTON.

A delegation from the European Parliament will visit Washington from May 18 - 22 to meet with members of the U.S. Congress and the U.S. Administration.

The twenty-three member delegation is led by Mrs. Eva Gredal, a former Danish Minister for Social Affairs. It includes eight Socialists, six members of the European People's Party, one Liberal, four European Democrats, two Communists and one Progressive Democrat, and one Independent. These numbers reflect the balance of the political groups in the Parliament.

Two members are from Denmark, four from Italy, one from France, four from Germany, five from the United Kingdom, three from Greece, and one each from Belgium, Ireland, and the Netherlands. One European Community country, Luxembourg, is not represented.

Delegations from the European Parliament and the U.S. Congress have met twice a year since 1972 to discuss a wide range of political and economic issues. The U.S. organizers of next week's meeting are Representative Donald J. Pease (D-Oh), the Chairman of the U.S. Congressional Delegation and his two co-chairmen, Representative Sam M. Gibbons (D-Fla) and Representative Larry Winn Jr. (R-Ks).

The meetings between the two delegations will include three plenary sessions and the topics to be discussed are European and U.S. foreign policy and trade issues including East-West and North-South relations, the situation in Poland and the Middle-East.

The delegation's other engagements will include luncheons given by the House Foreign Affairs Committee, hosted by Chairman Clement J. Zablocki,

..../....

Washington office: 2100 M Street NW Washington DC 20037 / telephone (202) 862-9500 / telex 89-539 EURCOM EUROPEAN COMMUNITY INFORMATION SERVICE

New York office: 1 Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza, 245 E 47th Street New York, New York 10017 / Telephone: (212) 371-3804

and the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, hosted by Senator Richard G. Lugar, Chairman of the Subcommittee on European Affairs.

The delegation will also have meetings with senior members of the U.S. Administration.

To arrange interviews with members of the delegation, please contact William Gaillard on 862-9500.

,

ŀ

MEMBERS OF THE DELEGATION FROM THE EUROPEAN

PARLIAMENT FOR RELATIONS WITH THE US CONGRESS

Mrs Eva Wilhelmsson Gredal (Denmark), Chairman of the Delegation Member of the Socialist Group Member of the Political Affairs Committee

Mr Vincenzo Giummarra (Italy), Vice-Chairman of the Delegation Member of the Group of the European People's Party Member of the Committee on External Economic Relations

Mr Sergio Segre (Italy), Vice-Chairman of the Delegation Member of the Communist and Allies Group Member of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Consumer Protection

Mr Mario Zagari (Italy), Vice President of the European Parliament Member of the Socialist Group Member of the Political Affairs Committee

Mr Ernest Glinne (Belgium), Chairman of the Socialist Group Member of the Committee on Development and Cooperation

Mr Erwin Lange (Federal Republic of Germany), Member of the Socialist Group Chairman of the Committee on Budgets

Mr Heinrich Aigner (Federal Republic of Germany), Member of the Group of the European People's Party Chairman of the Committee on Budgetary Control Member of the Committee on Budgets

Mr Harry Notenboom (Netherlands), Member of the Group of the European People's Party Vice Chairman of the Committee on Budgets Member of the Committee on Budgetary Control

Lord Bethell (United Kingdom), Member of the European Democratic Group Vice Chairman of the Political Affairs Committee

Sir David Nicolson (United Kingdom), Member of the European Democratic Group

Ms Maria Luisa Cassanmagnago Cerretti (Italy), Vice-Chairman of the European People's Party Member of the Political Affairs Committee Member of the Committee on Social Affairs and Employment Ms Yvette Roudy (France), Member of the Socialist Group Member of the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Consumer Protection

Mr Giovanni Barbagli (Italy), Member of the Group of the European People's Party Member of the Committee on Social Affairs and Employment Ì

- Mr Assimakis Fotilas (Greece), Member of the Socialist Group Member of the Committee on Agriculture
- Mr Alan Tyrrell (United Kingdom), Member of the European Democratic Group Member of the Legal Affairs Committee
- Mr Ionannis Dimopoulos (Greece), Member of the Independent Group Member of the Committee on Budgets
- Mr Roland Boyes (United Kingdom) Member of the Socialist Group Member of the Committee on Social Affairs and Employment
- Mr Konstantino Kappos (Greece), Member of the Communist and Allies Group Member of the Committee on Regional Policy and Regional Planning
- Mrs Tove Nielsen (Denmark), Member of the Liberal and Democratic Group Member of the Committee on Social Affairs and Employment
- Mr Karl Von Wogau (Federal Republic of Germany), Member of the Group of the European People's Party Member of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs
- Mr William Newton Dunn (United Kingdom), Member of the European Democratic Group Member of the Committee on Budgets
- Mr Erdmann Linde (Federal Republic of Germany), Member of the Socialist Group Member of the Committee on Energy and Research
- Ms Sile De Valera (Ireland), Member of the Group of European Progressive Democrats Member of the Committee on Social Affairs and Employment

١