

No. 19/1985 June 20, 1985

Contact: Ella Krucoff (202) 862-9540

European Parliament and U.S. Congress Exchange Views

A European Parliament delegation will discuss political and economic issues with members of the U.S. Congress during a June 20-26 visit to Washington and West Point, N.Y.

The Parliamentarians will also see Defense Secretary Caspar Weinberger, Agriculture Secretary John Block, Commerce Secretary Malcolm Baldrige, designated U.S. Trade Representative Clayton Yeutter and Federal Reserve Board Chairman Paul Volcker.

This will be the 25th meeting between members of Congress and the European Parliament under a program that began in 1972. The program is designed to give participants a better understanding of how major issues are viewed on opposite sides of the Atlantic, and an opportunity to investigate possibilities for compromise and cooperation in areas where differences exist.

The 25-member European delegation, headed by Piet Dankert, a Dutch Socialist and former President of the European Parliament, will meet June 20 with members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and other Senators interested in U.S.-European relations.

A U.S. House of Representatives delegation, headed by Tom Lantos (D-Calif.) and Benjamin Gilman (R-N.Y.), will attend two days of meetings with the Parliamentarians at West Point. The June 21-22 sessions will focus on security issues, including the Strategic Defense Initiative; trade and 'economic issues; agriculture; Central America; and narcotics, terrorism and human rights.

The meetings with U.S. Administration officials will take place June 24-26 in Washington. The Parliamentarians will attend briefings at the State Department June 25 and a luncheon at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce June 26.

./

Washington office: 2100 M Street NW Washington DC 20037 / telephone (202) 862-9500 / telex: 89-539 EURCOM EUROPEAN COMMUNITY INFORMATION SERVICE

New York office: 1 Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza, 245 E 47th Street New York, New York 10017 / telephone (212) 371-3804

Members of the European Parliament delegation will be available for press interviews the morning of Wednesday, June 26. Journalists who wish to meet with them should telephone 862-9540.

The 434-member European Parliament is elected by citizens of the European Community's 10 member states. The delegation visiting the U.S. includes members from eight member states, representing all of the Parliament's political groups: Socialist Group, Group of the European People's Party (P.P.E.), European Democratic Group (E.D.), Communist Group, Liberal and Democratic Group, Group of the European Democratic Alliance (R.D.E.), Rainbow Group (ARC), Group of the European Right (D.R.).

Participants include Michael Welsh (United Kingdom, E.D.), Chairman of the Social Affairs Committee; Heinrich Aigner (Federal Republic of Germany, P.P.E.), Chairman of the Budgetary Control Committee; and Ernest Glinne (Belgium, Socialist), former Chairman of the Socialist Group and a member of the Parliament's College of Questors.

The delegation's Vice-Chairmen are Vincenzo Giummarra (Italy, P.P.E.) and René Piquet (France, Communist).

Other participants are:

Lord Bethell (United Kingdom, E.D.) Erik Blumenfeld (Germany, P.P.E.) Elmar Brok (Germany, P.P.E.) Sir Fred Catherwood (United Kingdom, E.D.) Mark Clinton (Ireland, P.P.E.) Mario Di Bartolomei (Italy, Liberal) Fritz Gautier (Germany, Socialist) Benedikt Härlin (Germany, ARC) Magdalene Hoff (Germany, Socialist) Stephen Hughes (United Kingdom, Socialist) Leonidas Lagakos (Greece, Socialist) Jean-Marie Le Chevallier (France, D.R.) Ray MacSharry (Ireland, R.D.E.) Didier Motchane (France, Socialist) Jean Penders (Netherlands, P.P.E.) Christiane Scrivener (France, Liberal) Sergio Segre (Italy, Communist) Ioannis Tzounis (Greece, P.P.E.) Mario Zagari (Italy, Socialist)

The delegation will be accompanied by Simone Veil (France, Chairman of the Liberal and Democratic Group), former President of the European Parliament, and Dame Shelagh Roberts (United Kingdom, E.D.), Chairman of the Parliament's Foreign Trade Committee.