European Community



No. 14/1983 September 15, 1983

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT DELEGATION TO MEET WITH U.S. ADMINISTRATION AND CONGRESS

A European Parliament delegation will visit Washington and Hot Springs, Virginia from September 20-25 to meet with members of the U.S. Administration and the U.S. Congress.

During the first three days, the parliamentarians will see Donald T. Regan, Secretary of the Treasury, John R. Block, Secretary of Agriculture and Malcolm Baldrige, Secretary of Commerce, as well as Lawrence S. Eagleburger, Under Secretary for Political Affairs, Department of State and Michael B. Smith, Deputy U.S. Trade Representative. They will have a special meeting with Thomas P. O'Neill, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives.

The meetings in Hot Springs with a delegation from the U.S. Congress will include three plenary sessions. The following economic topics will be discussed: trade protectionism, US-EC agricultural problems, world economic recovery, North-South relations and international monetary affairs. Specific political issues which will be raised are: East-West relations, the status of the European Security Cooperation Conference (CSCE) and peace in the Middle East and Central America.

The twenty-four member delegation is led by Mr. Erwin Lange, a Social Democrat and former member of the German Bundestag. It includes eight Socialists, six members of the European People's Party, two Liberals, four European Democrats, three Communists and one Progressive Democrat. These numbers reflect the balance of the political groups in the Parliament.

Five members are from the United Kingdom, four each from Italy, France and Germany, two from Greece and the Netherlands, and one each from Belgium, Ireland and Luxembourg. One Community country, Denmark, is not represented.

/....

The delegation includes the chairmen of six parliamentary committees: Mr. Heinrich Aigner, Chairman of the Committee on Budgetary Control, Sir Fred Catherwood, Chairman of the Committee on External Economic Relations, Mr. Erwin Lange, Chairman of the Budget Committee, Mr. Jacques Moreau, Chairman of the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee, Mr. Efstratios Papaefstratiou, Chairman of the Social Affairs and Employment Committee, and Mrs. Simone Veil, the former President of the European Parliament, who now chairs the Legal Affairs Committee.

Delegations from the European Parliament and the U.S. Congress have met twice a year since 1972 to discuss a wide range of political and economic issues. The U.S. organizers of next week's meeting are Representative Tom Lantos (D-Ca), the Chairman of the U.S. Congressional Delegation and his two co-chairmen, Representative Sam M. Gibbons (D-F1) and Representative Larry Winn Jr. (R-Ks).

To arrange interviews with members of the delegation, please call Ella Krucoff, Head of Media on 862-9540.

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT DELEGATION

for relations with the

UNITED STATES

Mr. Erwin LANGE Chairman	Socialist, Germany Chairman of the Committee on Budgets
Mr. Vincenzo GIUMMARRA First Vice-Chairman	European People's Party, Italy Member of the Committee on Regional Policy and Regional Planning
Mr. Rene PIQUET Second Vice-Chairman	Communist, France Member of the Political Affairs Committee
Mr. Heinrich AIGNER	European People's Party, Germany Chairman of the Committee on Budgetary Control
The Lord BETHELL	European Democrat, United Kingdom Member of the Political Affairs Committee
Mr. Erik BLUMENFELD	European People's Party, Germany Member of the Committee on External Economic Relations Member of the Committee on Institutional Affairs
Mr. Roland BOYES	Socialist, United Kingdom Member of the Committee on Social Affairs and Employment
Miss Sile DE VALERA	European Progressive Democrat, Ireland Member of the Committee on Social Affairs and Employment
Mr. Fritz GAUTIER	Socialist, Germany Member of the Committee on Agriculture
Mrs. Ien van den HEUVEL	Socialist, Netherlands Member of the Political Affairs Committee Member of the Committee on Institutional Affairs
Mr. Leonidas LAGAKOS	Socialist, Greece Member of the Committee on Transport

Socialist, France

Affairs

Chairman, of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs
Member of the Committee on Institutional

Mr. Jacques MOREAU

Mrs. Louise MOREAU	European People's Party, France Member of the Committee on External Economic Relations
Mr. Hans NORD	Liberal and Democratic Group, Netherlands Member of the Committee on the Rules of Procedure and Petitions Vice-Chairman of the Committee on Institutional Affairs
Mr. Harry NOTENBOOM	European People's Party, Netherlands Vice-Chairman of the Committee on Budgets Member of the Committee on Budgetary Control
Mr. Efstratios PAPAEFSTRATIOU	European People's Party, Greece Chairman of the Committee on Social Affairs and Employment Member of the Committee on the Rules of Procedure and Petitions
Mr. Carlo RIPA di MEANA	Socialist, Italy Member of the Committee on Transport
Mr. Sergio SEGRE	Communist, Italy Member of the Political Affairs Committee
Mr. Alan TYRRELL	European Democrat, United Kingdom Member of the Legal Affairs Committee
Mrs. Simone VEIL	Vice-Chairman of the Liberal and Democratic Group, France Chairman of the Legal Affairs Committee
Mr. Michael WELSH	European Democrat, United Kingdom Member of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs
Also participating:	
Sir Fred CATHERWOOD	European Democrat, United Kingdom Chairman of the Committee on External Economic Relations

Mr. Ernest GLINNE

Mr. Guido FANTI

Affairs

Chairman of the Socialist Group, Belgium

Member of the Committee on Regional

Policy and Regional Planning

Culture, Education, Information and Sp Member of the Committee on Institution...

Communist, Italy
Member of the Committee on Youth,