European Communities

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

Working Documents

1979 - 1980

31 October 1979

DOCUMENT 1-454/79

MOTION FOR A RESOLUTION

tabled by Mr Ingo FRIEDRICH, Mr VANDEWIELE,
Mr von WOGAU, Mr Konrad SCHÖN, Mr DALSASS,
Mr SEITLINGER, Mr HENCKENS, Mr HUTTON,
Mr PFLIMLIN, Mr BOCKLET, Mr COTTRELL,
Mr AIGNER, Mr FUCHS, Mr HABSBURG, Mr FORTH,
Mr GOPPEL, Mr BEAZLEY and Mrs RABBETHGE
pursuant to Rule 25 of the Rules of Procedure
on the adoption of a European flag for the
European Community

The European Parliament,

- whereas, by virtue of its direct election on 10 June 1979, it is the democratically confirmed representative of the peoples of the European Community;
- determined to give the European Community a symbol with which the European peoples can identify;

decides that a European flag, bearing a circle of 12 yellow stars against a blue background, be adopted.