## **European Communities**

## **EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT**

Working Documents

1979 - 1980

14 December 1979

DOCUMENT 1-603/79

MOTION FOR A RESOLUTION

tabled by Mr SIEGLERSCHMIDT, Mr ORLANDI, Mr PELIKAN, Mr KEY, Mrs CASTLE, Mr LEZZI, Mr SEEFELD, Mr WAGNER, Mr Bruno FRIEDRICH, Mr SCHINZEL, Mr ABENS and Mr SEELER

pursuant to Rule 25 of the Rules of Procedure

on the/Dublin agreement on the suppression of terrorism

## The European Parliament,

- Notes that the European Convention on the suppression of terrorism has so far been ratified by three Member States of the European Community i.e. Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany and the United Kingdom and by a further four Member States of the Council of Europe i.e. Austria, Cyprus, Lichtenstein and Sweden;
- Is of the opinion that the Convention improves the conditions for the suppression of terrorism in the Member States and on the other hand offers sufficient scope for considered decisions in each individual case of a request for extradition;
- 3. Notes that reservations exist in some Member States of the European Community as regards the ratification of the Convention because of its geographically wide-ranging field of application comprising the territories of all the Member States of the Council of Europe;
- 4. Welcomes with regard to these reservations, the Agreement signed on 4 December 1979 by the Ministers of Justice of the Nine in Dublin, on the implementation within the European Community, of the European Convention on the suppression of terrorism;
- 5. Asks the parliaments and governments of the Nine at least to ratify as soon as possible the Agreement signed on 4 December 1979 on the implementation of the European Convention;
- Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the parliaments and governments of the Member States of the European Community.