

NIXON NOMINATES DEAN EARL L. BUTZ AS SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE:

WASHINGTON, Nov. 11 -- President Nixon announced at the White House today that he has nominated Dean Earl L. Butz, Dean of Continuing Education and Vice President of the Purdue Research Foundation, to become Secretary of Agriculture. Dean Butz would succeed Clifford M. Hardin, who resigned today to become Vice Chairman of the Ralston Purina Company, St.

Dean Butz, born and raised on an Indiana farm, has had a long career as a University educator and administrator at Purdue University, Lafayette, Indiana. Butz also served as Assistant Secretary of Agriculture from 1954 to 1957 under President Eisenhower. As Assistant Secretary he was in charge of marketing and foreign agriculture and was a member of the Board of Directors of the Commodity Credit Corporation.

Dean Butz graduated in Agricultural Economics from Purdue University in 1932 and acquired his doctorate there in 1937. He served for eight years as Head of the Agricultural Economics Department and for 10 years as Dean of Agriculture at Purdue University.

Dean Butz has traveled abroad extensively in 30 foreign countries and is a nationally-known speaker on agricultural subjects, having spoken in 49 states. While Assistant Secretary he chaired the U. S. Delegation to the Food and Agriculture Organization three times.

In 1943 he was Research Economist with the Brookings Institution in Washington, D. C., where his researches were published in a book entitled 5337 USDA 3746-71 The Production Credit System for Farmers. The following year he was Research Economist with the National Bureau of Economic Research in New York City. He has been a lecturer for many years before the School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin, the Graduate School of Banking at Rutgers University, and the Life Officers Investment Seminar at the University of Chicago.

Dean Butz is a member of a number of professional and learned societies and has served as a director of the Farm Foundation, Chicago; and the Foundation for American Agriculture, Washington, D. C.