Press Release

30/76

./...

Luxembourg, 30 September 1976

NEW APPOINTMENTS TO THE EUROPEAN INVESTMENT BANK

The Board of Governors of the European Investment Bank has appointed as Vice-President of the Bank and Member of the Management Committee, Mr. Maurits Esselens, Director-General (Treasury), Ministry of Finance, Belgium.

Mr. Esselens, prior to this appointment a Director of the Bank, takes up office on 1 October 1976, replacing Mr. Sjoerd Boomstra who has been obliged to relinquish his post at the end of September for personal reasons.

Having served on the EIB's Board of Directors since 1958, when the Bank was created, Mr. Boomstra was appointed Vice-President in 1970. In June 1976 when the statutory term of office of the Bank's Management Committee came up for renewal, he announced that he would continue to occupy his post for a limited period only.

Mr. Esselens' term of office will expire in 1982 at the same time as that of the other members of the Management Committee.

As from 1 October 1976 the composition of the EIB's Management Committee will be as follows : Yves Le Portz, President ; Horst-Otto Steffe, Sir Raymond Bell, Giorgio Bombassei Frascani de Vettor and Maurits Esselens, Vice-Presidents.

Press Release 30/76 - 30 September 1976

With effect from the same date, Mr. Ludovicus Meulemans has been appointed Director of the Bank to replace Mr. Esselens. Mr. Meulemans is Inspector General (Treasury Administration) at the Ministry of Finance, Belgium. Finally, on the nomination of the Benelux countries, Baron B. F. van Ittersum, Director (Domestic Finance) at the Netherlands Ministry of Finance, has been appointed an Alternate Director of the EIB.

Curriculum vitae of :

Mr. Maurits ESSELENS

Born 17 October 1916 at Asse (Belgium) ; married with 3 children.

Career - Ministry of Finance, Belgium. Since July 1975 : Director-General (Treasury).

Other posts held in this capacity :

- Government Commissioner to the Banque Nationale de Belgique and Institut de Réescompte et de Garantie
- Chairman of the Comité du Fonds des Rentes
- Director of the Caisse Autonome des Dommages de Guerre and of the Institut Belgo-Luxembourgeois du Change
- Member of the Conseil Supérieur des Finances and Conseil des Institutions de Crédit Public.

As from 1 October 1976, Vice-President of the European Investment Bank.