

news





Regional Policy and Cohesion

Newsletter No. 65

June 1999 - EN

Structural Funds 2000-2006 Eligible areas and financial breakdown

On 1 July 1999, the European Commission adopted a series of decisions to allow rapid implementation of the Structural Funds for the 2000-06 programming period. It drew up the list of areas which will be eligible under Objective 1 between 2000 and 2006 and set the ceilings for the areas which will be eligible under Objective 2 over the same period for each country. The Commission also laid down the budgets for the Member States for each priority objective and the appropriations for the four future Community Initiatives.

Objective 1

The following regions will be eligible under Objective 1 over the period 2000-2006:

- Germany: Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Thüringen
- Greece: Anatoliki Makedonia, Thraki, Kentriki Makedonia, Dytiki Makedonia, Thessalia, Ipeiros, Ionia Nisia, Dytiki Ellada, Sterea Ellada, Peloponnisos, Attiki, Voreio Aigaio, Notio Aigaio, Kriti (i.e. the whole country)
- Spain: Galicia, Principado de Asturias, Castilla y León, Castilla-La Mancha, Extremadura, Comunidad Valenciana, Andalucía, Región de Murcia, Ceuta y Melilla. Canarias
- France: Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyane, Réunion
- Italy: Campania, Puglia, Basilicata, Calabria, Sicilia, Sardegna
- Ireland: Border, Midlands and Western Seaboard
- · Austria: Burgenland
- Portugal: Norte, Centro, Alentejo, Algarve, Açores, Madeira
- Finland: Itä-Suomi, Väli-Suomi (part), Pohjois-Suomi (part)

- Sweden: Norra Mellansverige (part), Mellersta Norrland (part), Övre Norrland (part)
- United Kingdom: South Yorkshire, West Wales & The Valleys, Cornwall & Isles of Scilly, Merseyside

The regions in italics are regions which were not eligible under Objectives 1 or 6 between 1894 and 1999.

Transitional support will be provided for the areas which are currently eligible under Objective 1 but will no longer be so between 2000 and 2006. These areas are:

- · Germany: Ostberlin
- Belgium: Hainaut
- · Spain: Cantabria
- France: Corse and the districts of Valenciennes, Douai and Avesnes
- Italy: Molise
- · Ireland: Southern, Eastern
- · Netherlands: Flevoland
- Portugal: Lisboa e Vale do Tejo
- United Kingdom: Northern Ireland, Highlands and Islands.

Objective 2

In order to ensure that the "new" Objective 2 complies with the ceiling of 18% of the total population of the European Union laid down in the rules, the Commission set ceilings on the population eligible under Objective 2 for each country. In accordance with those ceilings (see table opposite), Member States were asked to submit their proposals for Objective 2 areas, on the basis of which the Commission will draw up the final list of eligible areas.

Transitional support is also planned for the areas which are today eligible under Objectives 2 or 5(b) but which will not be eligible under the new Objective 2 from 2000.

Member State	Population ceiling ('000)	As a % of the population		
BE	1269	12		
DK	538	10		
D	10296	13		
E	8809	⁺ 22		
F	18768	31		
1	7402	13		
L	118	28		
NL	2333	15		
Α	1995	25		
FIN	1582	31		
S	1223	14		
UK	13836	24		
EUR-15	68170	18		

Financial breakdown

The financial allocations for **Objectives 1 and 2** were decided on the basis of the eligible population, regional and national prosperity and the relative severity of structural problems, especially the level of unemployment.

For **Objective 3**, the allocation was made according to the eligible population, the employment situation and the severity of problems such as social exclusion, education and training levels and the participation of women in the labour market.

The Commission breakdown also provides for transitional support for former Objective 1, 2 and 5(b) areas and for structural operations in the fishing industry outside Objective 1 areas. The table does not include Community Initiatives and innovative measures.

Structural Funds: Breakdown by Member State for the period 2000-2006 (in EUR million at 1999 prices)

Member State	Objective 1	Transitional support for former Objective 1 areas	Objective 2	Transitional support for former Objective 2 and 5(b) areas		Fisheries Instrument (outside Objective 1 areas)	Total
BE	0	625	368	65	737	34	1829
DK	0	0	156	27	365	197	745
D	19229	729	2984	526	4581	107	28156
EL	20961	0	0	0	0	. 0	20961
E	37744	352	2553	98	2140	200	43087
F	3254	551	5437	613	4540	225	14620
IRL (1)	1315	1773	0	0	0	0	3088
1	21935	187	2145	377	3744	96	28484
L	0	0	34	6	38	0	78
NL	0	123	676	119	1686	31	2635
A	261	0	578	102	528	4	1473
Р	16124	2905	0	0	0	0	19029
FIN	913	0	459	30	403	31	1836
S (2)	722	0	354	52	720	60	1908
UK (1)	5085	1166	3989	706	4568	121	15635
EUR15	127543	8411	19733	2721	24050	1106	183564

(1) Including Peace (2000-2004) - (2) Including the special programme for Swedish coastal zones

As regards **Community Initiatives**, the Commission allocated the overall budget adopted at the Berlin European Council as follows:

- EUR 4 875 million for Interreg
- EUR 700 million for Urban
- EUR 2 020 million for Leader
- EUR 2 847 million for Equal

Further information

Further information on the Structural Funds is available on the Information site. In particular, this contains:

-the complete texts of the Structural Fund Regulations as published in the Official Journal on 26 June 1999

-the vade-medum drawn up by the Commission to help the Member States draft their programmes,

-various texts on evaluation which are also useful for programming.

-a map of the areas eligible under Objective 1 and the former Objective 1 areas eligible for transitional support

-the provisional Commission guidelines on the four future Community Initiatives

All these documents are accessible from the same page: http://inforegio.cec.eu.int/wbnews/new_en.htm

If you do not have an internet connection, a hard copy of any of these documents can be sent to you on request by fax to No +32 2 230 39 15.



European Commission
Directorate-General for Regional Policy and Cohesion

CX-AB-99-006-EN-C